Infinitive (Kata Kerja Invinitive atau Verb-1)


Infinitive atau Kata Kerja Dasar atau STEM atau juga disebut VERB-1 dibagi menjadi dua : TO INFINITIVE dan INFINITIVE WITHOUT TO.

TO INFINITIVE misalnya : to go, to read, to come, to learn, to play, etc.

INFINITIVE WITHOUT TO misalnya : go, read, come, learn, play, etc.

INFINITIVE memiliki beberapa bentuk sebagai berikut :

To + Verb-1, misalnya To know me is To love me.

Not to + Verb-1, misalnya She wants me not to go.

To be + Verb-3, misalnya The manager wanted the report to be printed soon.

The Use OF Infinitive

1). Sebagai SUBYEK

  • Contoh :

To Know me is to love me.

To live is to struggle.

To love is to sacrifice.

2). Untuk keterangan tujuan, sifat, benda atau clause (anak kalimat) yang dimulai dengan (Wh-/How word)

  • Contoh  :

Ramli went to the USA TO CONTINUE his study.

That women is too busy TO THINK OF herself.

We have alot of English story books TO READ.

I don’t know what TO SAY.

3). Setelah Objek Kata Kerja berikut ini :

ASK (minta)

– I ask Shinta to come to a seminar.

AGREE (setuju)

– We all agree to find a way out.

ARRANGE (berencana)

– I arrange to meet Cyntia in the cafe.

APPEAR (nampak)

– That Girl appears not to know the metter.

AFFORD (mengusahakan)

– Mr. Simon can not afford to build a good house.

DECIDE (memutuskan)

– I have decide to apply for a position

ENABLE (memungkinkan)

– This tool enables us to enter this room

ENCOURAGE (mendorong)

– My father encourage me to take the chance.

EXPECT (berharap)

– I expect to be admitted in the University Entrance Examination

FAIL (gagal)

– Agatha failed to get a scholarship to study abroad

FORCE (memaksa)

– The man forces all of us to make a riot

HOPE (berharap)

– The workers hope the government to solve their problems

LEARN (belajar)

– I was twenty when I learned to drive a car.

INVITE (mengundang)

– US Ambassador invites us to attend a party at his office

INTEND (bermaksud)

– I intend to free you from punishment

KNOW (tahu)

– You must know how to aperate this machine.

OFFER (menawarkan)

– May I offer you a chance to start a business ?

ORDER (memerintahkan)

– General Mc Arthur ordered the troops to keep alert.

PERMIT (mengizinkan)

– The rules do not permit you to smoke here

PROMISE (berjanji)

– I promise to study harder to rech my goal

PERSUADE (membujuk)

– The doctor persuaded my daughter to take syrup again.

REMIND (mengingatkan)

– Please remind me to prepare my seminar kits.

REFUSE (menolak)

– He refused to be involved in the Bali bombing.

SEEM (nampak)

– This country seems to be peaceful.

THREATEN (mengancam)

– The terrorists threatened to blow up air pane.

TELL (beritahu)

Tell her not to leave her house 10.00 p.m.

TEND (cenderung)

– The condition tends to be calm

TEACH (mengajari)

– Mirnawati teaches us to play piano

WARN (mengingatkan)

– The police warn us not to enter the forest at night

WANT (ingin)

– I want you to stay here until tomorrow.

WOULD LIKE (ingin)

– I would like you to be rich and happy


(lebih suka)

– I would prefer to have lunch now


(‘d love= mau)

I’d love to live in Timika Papua

The Use Of Infinitive Without (Tanpa) To

INVINITIVE Without (tanpa) TO digunakan sbb :

1). Setelah CanCould, MayMaight, MustHave/Has/Had to, Shall-Should, WillWould,

  • Contoh

I can COME with you

We must TRY again

You should STAY here until everything is all right.

2).  Setelah kata Kerja : LET, MAKE, dan HELP,

  • Contoh

The cops let the demonstrators ENTER the parlementary building.

That letter has made the girl CRY.

Help me MOVE this table, please

Sumber : Slamet Riyanto, English Tests For Senior High School Students, Pustaka Pelajar ; Yogyakarta, 2006.

Tentang alfanaikkelas
Galeri | Pos ini dipublikasikan di Grammar dan tag . Tandai permalink.

Berikan Balasan

Isikan data di bawah atau klik salah satu ikon untuk log in:


You are commenting using your account. Logout / Ubah )

Gambar Twitter

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Logout / Ubah )

Foto Facebook

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Logout / Ubah )

Foto Google+

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Logout / Ubah )

Connecting to %s